Keeping the community updated

Andrew hosts second annual Glass House Volunteer Award ceremony

Today Member for Glass House, Andrew Powell, proudly hosted the second annual Glass House Volunteer Awards designed to recognise the hard work of volunteers in our community.

“Volunteers truly are the lifeblood of any community – they keep things ticking over and in most cases are not thanked enough for the vital role they play.

“It was great that for the second year in a row we could link the Glass House ceremony with the nation wide celebration for National Volunteers week,” Mr Powell said.

Mr Powell invited community groups, schools, churches and sporting groups from across the electorate to submit a nomination for one of their outstanding volunteers.

“The word is out I’d say – we had so many new groups submitting nominations this year and plenty of the ones from last year who took the opportunity to recognise another one of their hardworking volunteers.

“I must say my favourite part of the day is having the chance to share a cuppa and a piece of cake with these dedicated and tireless volunteers and personally communicate my heartfelt thanks for what they do,” Mr Powell concluded.

Volunteers that received awards;

Conondale Rural Fire Brigade – Paul Beavis

Blackall Range Woodcrafters Guild – George Blowers

Blackall Range Care Group – Gillie Warren

Maleny Blackall Range Lions Club – Graham Bailey

Maleny LNP Branch – Bob Aitken

Maleny Bowls Club – James Leslie Bennett

Maleny District Sport and Rec Club – Gail Denver

Maleny Historical Society – Betty Diefenbach

Maleny Hospital Auxiliary – Margaret Moss

Maleny Swimming Club – Robyn Graham

Maleny Showgrounds Management Committee – Ray Green

Maleny Toastmasters – Margie Richter

5th Light Horse Regiment – Ian Smith

Maleny RSL Sub Branch – Ken and Vicki Smith

Maleny State High School – Fran Tickle

Maleny Meals on Wheels – Judy Hankinson

Maleny Show Society – Robert Hawkins

Maleny Justice of the Peace – Barbara Hays

Maleny Film Society – Nora Julien

TS Centaur – Amanda Cox

Zonta Club of Blackall Range – Gillian Allen

The Range Croquet Club – Neil Lovett

Witta Tennis Club – Garry Martin

Chevallum State School – Kym Caffrey

Eudlo Rural Fire Brigade – Hamish Murdoch

Eudlo State School – Nancy Thomson

Glasshouse Country RSL Sub Branch – Kevin and Margaret Beasley

Glasshouse Mountains Sports Club – Lorna Buxton

Knitting for Brisbane’s Needy – Peter and Karen Croke

Glasshouse Country Orchid Society – Noela Frizzo

Glasshouse Mountains Advancement Network – Phyl Medlen

Peachester History Committee – Nessie Pratten

Friends of Bankfoot House – Elaine Reeves

Glasshouse Mountains Rural Fire Brigade – Stephen Rook

Beerwah Neighbourhood Watch – Shelia Williams

Landsborough Rural Fire – Craig Young

Caboolture Historical Association – Roger Dunstan

Caboolture Police Station – Guy D’Aquino

Elimbah State School – Carolyn Hurley

Delaneys Creek Pony Club – Kevin Bathis

Mt Mee Community Cemetery – Ian Chapman

Mt Mee Public Hall – Neil Cook

Wamuran State School – Leo Bridgeman

Wamuran Neighbourhood Watch – Tara Wallace

Woodford Community Bus – Michael Wallis

Australian Narrow Gauge Railway Museum – Brian Webber

Related news

Keeping the community updated