Newton Legacy lives on in Beerwah State High School Student

Member for Glass House Andrew Powell MP has announced the 2023 Joyce Newton OAM Memorial Bursary winner as Year 12 Beerwah Stage High School student, Nikita Emhofer.

Miss Emhofer has been crowned as this year’s winner after providing a written application and impressing both Mr Powell and the late Mrs Newton’s daughter, Jen Tunley, in an interview.  She demonstrated a very high level of academic achievement, ambition and community involvement.

“Nikita really impressed us with her breadth of experience, desire to help the community and understanding of the magnitude of mum’s contribution to society,” said Mrs Tunley.

“The decision was especially close, but Nikita inched out on top after her interview. She should be incredibly proud of her achievements to date, and her plans for the future. Her parents and school should also take a bow,” said Mr Powell.

Nikita will now receive a $1,000 voucher to spend at Concept IT in Maleny, as well as dinner for her and her family and acknowledgement of her achievement in Queensland Parliament.

But this year, the wins don’t stop there. Andrew and Jen have decided to award two runners up prizes to Kelly Schofield from Maleny State High School and Nina Taylor from St Columban’s College.

“The competition was that close, the Newton family wanted to recognise more applicants through the awarding a two special $500 vouchers to Kelly and Nina,” said Mr Powell.

“In their interviews, both Kelly and Nina embodied a real community spirit that I know mum would have been proud of,” said Mrs Tunley.

“And to the other applicants who didn’t quite succeed this year, thank you for your efforts. Each of you are amazing.  It was our immense pleasure to get to know you through the process.  And our future is safe in your hands,” concluded Mr Powell.